On April 21, 1958, the entity that would eventually become ASTTBC was born. A small group of technologists and technicians identified both an opportunity and a need for the formation of an organization that would serve individuals with diverse backgrounds and technical expertise.

With that vision in mind, they established the Society of Architectural and Engineering Technologists (SAET). Over the course of more than six decades, the organization evolved to become a regulatory body in 1985 and underwent a couple of name changes, finally becoming ASTTBC and ultimately contributing to its legacy.


In February 2021, the Applied Science Technologists and Technicians (ASTT) Act was repealed and ASTTBC became a regulatory body under the PGA, along with Engineers and Geoscientists BC (EGBC), Association of BC Forest Professionals (ABCFP), College of Applied Biology (CAB), and BC Institute of Agrologists (BCIA).


  • Introduction of RTMgr certification recognizing AScTs and CTechs involved in supervision, management or leadership in the technology fields
  • EGBC (formerly APEGBC)-ASTTBC joint PTech Task Force formed to introduce the Professional Technologist (PTech) designation for BC
  • Technology Registrations Canada (TRC) fully integrated with ASTTBC certification as an online tool
  • Introduction of mandatory CPD reporting implemented
  • Enhancement of professional accountability with the introduction of Practice Assessment Reviews
  • Launch of the TechJOBS Career Listing and Job Posting service for registrants and employers
  • Development of initiatives/services to assist Internationally Trained Technology Professionals (ITTP), First Nations and People with Disabilities
  • Labour Market Information studies conducted with EGBC, ACEC-BC


  • Exemption in Land Surveyors Act for AScT and CTech
  • Sign Memorandum of Understanding with the Corporation of Land Surveyors of BC
  • ASTTBC members included as qualified professionals in Municipal Sewage Regulations and in Streamside Protection Regulations
  • Revised Foresters Act including Registered Forest Technologists – Forest Techs transferred to the Association of BC Forest Professionals
  • ASTTBC-registered professionals are appropriately recognized in government legislation


  • AScTs and CTechs referenced in Ministry of Transportation and Highways and in the Ministry of Forests Technical Consultants’ Registry
  • First province to provide Special Certification for expertise, such as building design, fire protection, site improvements surveys and timber cruising


  • Incorporated under own Act recognizing ASTTBC as a self-governing professional association
  • 2 levels of Certification: Certified Technician (CTech) and Applied Science Technologist (AScT)
  • Arranged reasonably priced professional liability insurance for technologists and technicians
  • Foundation registered, and first bursaries awarded to students in accredited programs


  • 3 levels of Certification: Certified Engineering Technician, Senior Engineering Technician and Certified Engineering Technologist – all as CET
  • First accreditation of technology programs at BCIT and BC colleges


  • 4 levels of Certification: Technician I – III and Technologist
  • Name changed to the Society of Engineering Technologists of the Province of British Columbia (SETBC)
  • Still registered as a society
  • Ranked among the top five professional associations in an independent, cross-Canada survey
  • First Limited Licence in Engineering issued by EGBC to an AScT
  • Memorandum of Understanding with Professional Biologists
  • Joint Statement of Principles with Professional Foresters