Practice Guidelines

As part of ASTTBC’s continuous improvement efforts, the ASTTBC Council has concluded that there is room for improvement to these Guidelines and is currently adjusting the Guides in a manner that will maintain the integrity of ASTTBC’s mandate and responsibilities under the ASTT Act.

Leading up to 2015, the ASTTBC-EGBC Joint Board worked on a revision of the ASTTBC Electrical Technology Practice Guide. Both ASTTBC and EGBC Councils approved the revisions. The intent of the Joint Board was to revise other existing ASTTBC guides beginning with those related to Building Projects. Preliminary revisions have been made using the approved Electrical Technology Guide as a template.

As a reminder, ASTTBC members should only undertake that work for which they have competency. Members must also only practice independently and take professional responsibility for their work where permitted in law.

ASTTBC Practice Guide Email
Biomedical Technology biomedical@asttbc.org
Electrical Technology

  • Current version approved by ASTTBC and EGBC Council September 2015
electrical@asttbc.org
Electronics Technology electronics@asttbc.org
Fire Protection Technology fire@asttbc.org
Geomatics Technology geomatics@asttbc.org
Mechanical Technology mechanical@asttbc.org
Site Improvements Surveys sis@asttbc.org

 

The following Guides have been APPROVED by the ASTTBC Council for use by ASTTBC Registrants where required by law.

Download PDF Details
Guidelines for Legislated Riparian Area Assessments Resource practice guide for ASTTBC registrants must adhere to when performing assessments within Riparian Areas.

 

The following Standard of Practice (SoP) has been APPROVED by the ASTTBC Council for use by ASTTBC Registered Fire Protection Technicians (RFPT).

Download PDF Details
Registered Fire Protection Technician Standard of Practice Standard of Practice (SoP) for Registered Fire Protection Techncians (RFPT).

 

The following guides have been ENDORSED by the ASTTBC Council for use by ASTTBC Registrants.

Download PDF Details
AMEBC Safety Guidelines 5th Edition Safety guide endorsed by ASTTBC Council for ASTTBC registrants who work or are involved within the mineral exploration sector.

 

The following Guides were APPROVED IN PRINCIPLE by the ASTTBC Council and are issued for comment.

Download PDF Email
Architectural/Building Technology

  • This guide is scheduled for review in 2019.
architectural-building@asttbc.org

 

If you have comments or questions on the guides or would like to suggest other areas of professional development to consider for technology professionals, please feel free to submit them in writing or email to:

Jason Jung, AScT
Manager of Professional Practice
Email:  jjung@asttbc.org

Applied Science Technologists & Technicians of British Columbia

10767 – 148th Street
Surrey, B.C.
V3R 0S4