Staff

Contact

Applied Science Technologists &Technicians of British Columbia
10767 – 148th Street
Surrey, B.C. V3R 0S4

Tel (604) 585-2788
Fax (604) 585-2790
techinfo@asttbc.org

Governance & Management, Professional Recognition

John Leech, AScT, CAE
Chief Executive Officer
jleech@asttbc.org
Ext. 228
Council, governance, association management, professional legislation and rights to practice, government liaison, First Nations Careers Council, Technology Education and Careers Council.
Cindy Aitken
Manager, Governance & Events
caitken@asttbc.org
Ext. 229
ASTTBC Council, community representatives, events management, awards program.
Jacqueline de Raadt, BA
Manager, Executive Initiatives
jderaadt@asttbc.org
Ext. 260
Strategic initiative development and implementation, special projects.
MJ Whitemarsh
Manager, Strategic Partnerships
mjwhitemarsh@asttbc.org
Ext. 256
Stakeholder relations management.
John Coward, MA
Labour Market Consultant
jcoward@asttbc.org
Labour market strategies; special projects.

Registration / Membership

Charles Joyner, AScT, BEd, MA, PhD
Registrar
cjoyner@asttbc.org
Ext. 235
Registrations, professional standards and appeals to decisions by the Board of Examiners (BoE) and the Technical Specialist (TS) Certification Boards; Secretary to the BoE and all TS Certification Boards.
Geoff Sale, AScT
Manager, Internationally Trained Professionals
gsale@asttbc.org
P: (604) 521-5059
Internationally trained technology professionals (ITTP) program.
Barry Brooks, AScT, CHI, RRFA(L), PEng
Manager, Property Inspection Program
bbrooks@asttbc.org
Ext. 252
House & Property Inspection Technical Specialist Program; management and stakeholder liaison.
Jim Andersen, ROWP
Manager, Onsite Wastewater Program
jandersen@asttbc.org
Ext. 254
Onsite Wastewater Technical Specialist Program; management and stakeholder liaison.
Bruce Stevens, AScT
Manager, Construction Safety Program
Manager, Underground Utility Locator Program
bstevens@asttbc.org
P: (250) 491-0395
Construction Safety and Underground Utility Locator Technical Specialist Programs; management and stakeholder liaison; representing ASTTBC in the Okanagan area.
Robert (Bob) Furlong
Program Advisor, Fire Protection Program
bfurlong@asttbc.org
Ext. 240
Fire Protection Technical Specialist Program; advisor and stakeholder liaison.
Karen McDiarmid, BA
Manager, Fire Protection Program
kmcdiarmid@asttbc.org
Ext. 259
Fire Protection Technical Specialist Program management.
TBA
Manager, Registered Technology Manager Registrations
Registered Technology Manager Program; management and stakeholder liaison.
TBA
Manager, Electrical Work Practitioner Program
Electrical Work Practitioner Program; management and stakeholder liaison.
Amy Liu
Sr Coordinator, Registrations
aliu@asttbc.org
Ext. 234
Technologist/Technician certification program, application processing, reclassification, reinstatement and transfer applications, upgrade, appeal and provisional membership inquiries.
Edna Schwartz, BA
Coordinator, Registrations
eschwartz@asttbc.org
Ext. 233
Technologist/Technician certification programs, application processing, students and grad techs, reclassification, transfer, and reinstatement applications, AScT and CTech stamp and seal.
Julie Li, MEd
Coordinator, Compliance & Registrations
jli@asttbc.org
Ext. 249
Registered Technology Manager, Technologist/Technician certification programs, application processing.
Frauke Bracht
Coordinator, Technical Specialist Registrations
fbracht@asttbc.org
Ext. 258
Onsite Wastewater, Construction Safety, Public Works, and Electrical Work Practitioner certification programs, application processing, reclassification, reinstatement, scheduling of challenge exams, processing requests for stamps, and general inquiries.
Erin Macedo
Coordinator, Technical Specialist Registrations
emacedo@asttbc.org
Ext. 247
Fire Protection, Property Inspection, Site Improvement Survey, Building Design and Steel Detailing certification programs, application processing, reclassification, reinstatement, scheduling of challenge exams, processing requests for stamps, and general inquiries.

Practice & Compliance

Charles Joyner, AScT, BEd, MA, PhD
Registrar
cjoyner@asttbc.org
Ext. 235
Complaints and discipline, title protection and legal issues related to practice and compliance. Accreditation of education and training programs. Secretary to the PRB and the Accreditation Board.
Ron Hein, ROWP
Chief Compliance Officer
rhein@asttbc.org
Ext. 231
Designate to Registrar on complaints and discipline matters.
Elvira O’Kane, BComm
Sr Coordinator, Practice & Compliance
eokane@asttbc.org
Ext. 238
Coordination of all complaints and concerns, protection of titles, and Accreditation liaison.
Julie Li, MEd
Coordinator, Compliance & Registrations
jli@asttbc.org
Ext. 249
Coordination of complaints and concerns.

Program Development / Technology Careers / Member Services

Jason Jung, AScT
Manager, Professional Practice &
Development
jjung@asttbc.org
Ext. 224
Professional practice and program development, stakeholder relations, employer liaison, student and post-secondary liaison, and technology career awareness.
Karen Taylor
Manager, Member Services & Operations
ktaylor@asttbc.org
Ext. 236
Member services program management.
Cheryl Blachuras
Coordinator, Customer Services
techinfo@asttbc.org
Ext. 221
General inquiries, member and employer services information, event assistance, TechJOBS and CTEN assistance, rings and regalia.

Marketing / Communications

Anne Sharp, BA
Manager, Marketing
asharp@asttbc.org
Ext. 239
Marketing, corporate sponsorship, advertising.
Kimberly Kelly, BA
Manager, Communications
kkelly@asttbc.org
Ext. 253
ASTTBC Connect, e-News, social media, press releases.
Richard Mayer, AScT
Manager, Corporate Identity
rmayer@asttbc.org
P: (604) 946-7864
F: (604) 946-7829
Corporate identity, publications.

Information Technology

Meg Kalinowska, AScT, BTech
Manager, e-Business
mkalinowska@asttbc.org
Ext. 226
Web site management and information systems (IS) management.
Ben Bracht, MCSE, MCT
IT Support Specialist
bbracht@asttbc.org
Ext. 248
Helpdesk support and network troubleshooting.
Tyler Nerada
Web Developer
tnerada@asttbc.org
Web development.

Finance & Administration

Nicky Malli, BA
Manager, Finance
nmalli@asttbc.org
Ext. 230
Financial management and inquiries, member dues, building administration.
Lumi Guias
Coordinator, Finance & Bursaries
lguias@asttbc.org
Ext. 237
Dues payments, ASTTBC Foundation donation receipts, member information update, cancellations, bursaries.
Karen Taylor
Manager, Member Services & Operations
ktaylor@asttbc.org
Ext. 236
Operations management, office administration, BC Women in Technology, special projects.
Betty Bell
Assistant, Office Services
Ext. 232
Office supplies, shipping and receiving.
Heather Stevens
Assistant, Administrative Services
hstevens@asttbc.org
Ext. 246
General administration.

ASTTBC Foundation

Anne Sharp, BA
Executive Director
asharp@asttbc.org
Ext. 239
General operations, charitable donations, leaving a bequest to ASTTBC Foundation, donor recognition.
Heather Stevens
Administration
hstevens@asttbc.org
Ext. 246
ASTTBC Foundation bursary submissions and general administration.