ASTTBC Welcomes New President

The Applied Science Technologists and Technicians of BC announce the appointment of Trent Reid, CTech, as President. Reid replaces the organization’s immediate Past President, Keith Trulson, AScT, EngL. “ASTTBC is excited to build on Trent’s leadership, team building and project management experience. He will drive us forward as we pursue our focus on Professional Reliance, collaboration with other organizations and responsive governance,” said ASTTBC CEO, John Leech (AScT, CAE).

Trent has dedicated his professional career to advancing his knowledge in the civil engineering field and project management. With over 32 years of municipal engineering experience, he has been a designer and Project Manager for numerous infrastructure projects, including the City of Vancouver’s post-disaster Dedicated Fire Protection System, construction of Delta’ Sungod Recreation Center Expansion, Delta’s 80th Street Overpass project and numerous water, sewer, drainage and roadway improvement projects. Educated at BCIT and the University of Victoria, Trent is a certified Civil Technician and has been an active member of the ASTTBC Council since 2009. Trent’s role as ASTTBC President will continue until 2019.

“Technology professionals are critical to the growth and development of the BC economy and sustainability of the environment and are fully committed to assuring public health and safety. ASTTBC’s over 10,000 engineering and applied science technologists, technicians and technical specialists are qualified, registered and accountable and can be counted on to serve and protect the public interest. The ASTTBC governing Council recognizes that there is a need for improvements and has set a course to enhance members’ practice including mandatory continuing professional development and practice assessment reviews.” commented Mr. Reid.

Trent is joined by Council Executive: Vice President, Sarah Campden, CTech, RTMgr, Secretary Treasurer, David Sparanese, AScT, CPWI 3, Past President, Keith Trulson, AScT, EngL, ten Council Directors and three Public Representatives.